Awards | General Info | Sponsor Awards

New York Microscopical Society Ernst Abbe Award

Brian J. Ford is one of the best-known microscopists. He has written many hundreds of papers and about twenty books on microscopy, and has made important discoveries in fields ranging from hematology and cell intelligence to protozoology and plant physiology. Professor Ford is also an authority on the development of the microscope. He discovered the…

Awards | Sponsor Awards

NY/NJ Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal Award:

Dr. Howard Mark and Dr. Jerome Workman, Jr. have been named as the winners of the 2020 New York Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal Award. Jerry Workman is currently the Senior Technical Editor for Spectroscopy and its sister publication, LCGC North America. He is also a Certified Core Adjunct Professor at National University in San Diego, CA…

Awards | EAS Awards

2020 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry

Susan Olesik received her A.S. from Vincennes University B.A. from DePauw University and her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, under the auspices of James W. Taylor in field of analytical mass spectrometry. She held a postdoctoral fellowship for Milos Novotny at Indiana University followed by a postdoctoral fellow for Tomas Baer at University of North…

Awards | EAS Awards | General Info

2020 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Vibrational Spectroscopy

John A. Reffner, Ph.D. is currently a Professor of forensic science at John Jay College, CUNY in New York, NY.  His scientific interests are focused on uniting spectroscopy with microscopy and applying novel technologies to advance materials and forensic science.  He pioneered the development of infrared micro-spectrometers, accessories and innovative applications infrared microprobe technology.  Dr….

Awards | EAS Awards | General Info

2020 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Separation Science

Joe Foley is Professor and Graduate Advisor of Chemistry at Drexel University. He earned a B.S in Chemistry and Chemical Physics from Centre College of Kentucky and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Florida under the guidance of John Dorsey. He conducted research at National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) for 2…

Awards | EAS Awards | General Info

2020 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Magnetic Resonance

Arthur G. Palmer, III received a B.A. in chemistry magna cum laude in 1980 from Haverford College. There he conducted undergraduate research in the photochemistry of carbonyl carbene with Prof. Colin F. Mackay. After two years working as an analytical chemist and two years teaching high school chemistry and physics, Palmer entered graduate school, first…

Awards | EAS Awards

2020 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Mass Spectrometry

Dr. Barbara Larsen is a Nutrition & Biosciences Fellow at the DuPont Experimental Station in Wilmington, DE. Her research focuses on the application of mass spectrometry to support the biotechnology business. She has a keen interest in ionization methods to ensure the continued  relevance of mass spectrometry for biotechnology projects at DuPont. Barbara has a passion…

Awards | EAS Awards

2020 EAS Young Investigator Award

Dajana Vuckovic is an Associate Professor and Concordia University Research Chair in Clinical Metabolomics, Biomarkers and Preventative Health in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Concordia University. She is also the Director of Concordia’s Centre for Biological Applications of Mass Spectrometry. She received Honours BSc in Chemistry from the University of Toronto in 2002,…

Awards | Symposium

2020 Corporate Sponsors

Corporate Sponsors actively participate in the Eastern Analytical Symposium and Exposition. There are numerous opportunities for Corporate Sponsorship of technical sessions, awards, and other activities at the 2020 EAS.  For information, please contact the EAS Executive Secretary at The Governing Board of EAS would like to THANK the following sponsors for their support: Sponsor…

Awards | Sponsor Awards

American Microchemical Society Benedetti Pichler Award

Vincent T. Remcho is Oregon State University’s Patricia Valian Reser Faculty Scholar and Honors College Eminent Professor, with appointments in the Department of Chemistry and the Materials Science program. He holds adjunct appointments in Biochemistry & Biophysics and Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering. His research group works at the interface of science and engineering to design,…