Author: askeas

General Info

2014 EAS New Faculty Award in NMR Spectroscopy

Megan A. Macnaughtan is an assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry at Louisiana State University.  She received her bachelor’s degree in chemistry at Ohio University in 1998, and her Ph.D. in analytical chemistry in 2003 from Purdue University.  She worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the Complex Carbohydrate Research Center at the University of…

General Info

2014 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in NIR

Mark Westerhaus received his B.A. and M.A. degrees in psychology from Case Western University in Cleveland, Ohio.  Mark continued his academic career in the Department of Statistics at The Pennsylvania State University where he became interested in statistical applications in agronomy. In 1978, he joined John Shenk as a graduate assistant in the USDA NIRS…

General Info

2014 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in NMR

Dr. Robert Tycko is a Senior Investigator in the Laboratory of Chemical Physics, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health.  He was born in New York City, raised on Long Island, and educated in physical chemistry at Princeton University (A.B. in 1980) and the University of California at Berkeley…

General Info

2014 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Chemometrics

Marcel Maeder was born 1951 Basel, Switzerland. He received a Diploma in Chemistry, from the University of Basel, Switzerland in 1975.  In 1980 he received his Ph.D. with Prof. Silvio Fallab at the University of Basel (summa cum laude), Kinetics of the interactions of Co(II) complexes with molecular oxygen.  Then in 1988 he received Habilitation…

General Info

Call for Nominations – 2015 EAS Awards

Submit your nomination by Sept. 1, 2014. Each year EAS presents 7 awards to Analytical Scientists who have distinguished themselves in the areas of magnetic resonance, near-infrared spectroscopy, mass spectrometry, chemometrics and separation sciences. The premier award is the “Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry”.   Click here for…

President's Message

EAS 2013: Message from the President

  Welcome to the 52nd Eastern Analytical Symposium and Exposition!   Once again, thousands of scientists from everywhere are in Somerset, New Jersey, for another fantastic symposium for people with one common thread: Analytical Chemistry. On behalf of the Governing Board, I invite you to explore what EAS has to offer. First, the outstanding three-day…


Plenary Lecture

Plenary LectureMonday, November 17, 20144:30pmGrand Ballroom, Double Tree Hotel We are excited to announce our award winner of theEAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry Dr. Joseph CarusoUniversity of Cincinnatti  This presentation will be followed by a time of networking and refreshments with all registrants of EAS encouraged to attend.

General Info

Workshop Wednesday November 20

A Little Help from my Friends: Mentors, Coaches, and Sponsors Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013, from 10:00 am to 12:00 noonSatinder “Sut” Ahuja, Ahuja Consulting, Calabash, NCSue Franz, Gentex, Zeeland, MIStephen Scypinski, Bristol-Myers Squibb, New Brunswick, NJRobert Vetrecin, Ethicon, Somerville NJ WORKSHOP DESCRIPTIONBob Vetrecin will lead off the workshop with a section on Mentoring. Mentoring means…