2015 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Separation Science

Prof. David S. Hage University of Nebraska
Prof. David S. Hage
University of Nebraska

David S. Hage is the James Hewett University Professor, and a Full Professor of Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry, at the University of Nebraska (Lincoln, Nebraska).  He received a B.S. in both Chemistry and Biology from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, and his Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from Iowa State University.  He was then a postdoctoral fellow in Clinical Chemistry and the Department of Laboratory Medicine at Mayo Clinic before joining the faculty in the Chemistry Department at the University of Nebraska as an Assistant Professor in 1989.

Dr. Hage’s general research interests involve the design and use of affinity-based separations in high-performance liquid chromatography, capillary electrophoresis and other systems for clinical, pharmaceutical, and environmental analysis.  Some of his specific interests include the theory and development of chromatographic-based immunoassays, the study of biological interactions by employing affinity-based separation methods, the behavior of protein-based chiral separations, the production of novel supports or immobilization schemes for affinity-based methods, and the creation and behavior of hybrid or miniaturized affinity separation platforms.  He is also interested in the use of affinity-based separations, both alone and in combination with mass spectrometry, as tools for personalized medicine and functional proteomics.

Dr. Hage is the author of over 240 research publications, reviews and book chapters, as well as six patents, in the field of separation science.  He was the editor for the Handbook of Affinity Chromatography, 2nd edition, which was published in 2006, and he is the lead author on a college textbook entitled Analytical Chemistry and Quantitative Analysis.  He has been a co-author on several other textbooks and books in the areas of chemistry and separation science.  In his research program, he has personally trained over 54 graduate students who have received Ph.D. or M.S. degrees and has mentored over 65 undergraduates, postdoctoral fellows and visiting scientists.  He is a member of the American Chemical Society, the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and he is a fellow in the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry.  He is currently an editor for the Journal of Chromatography B and serves on the editorial board for Bioanalysis.

Previous awards that Dr. Hage has received include the Young Investigator Award from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, an Excellence in Graduate Education Award from the University of Nebraska, and a University of Nebraska College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Research and Creative Achievement Award.  He has received two top-cited article awards, each spanning a time period of five years, from the Journal of Chromatography.  He was named a Charles Bessey Professor at the University of Nebraska in 2006, and he became the James Hewett University Professor in 2012.