2021 Student Research Awards

Sponsored by Merck & Co.

EAS continues to actively support a Student Research Awards program to recognize students involved in research in the broad field of analytical chemistry. We have expanded the Student Research Awards to include both graduate and undergraduate students. In the spring of each year, we encourage professors to identify undergraduate Juniors in college and graduate students who demonstrate special talent in research. Nomination criteria include excellent grades, appraisals of how the students handle their investigations, their approach and how they resolve problems and publicly disseminate their work. For more information on nominating a student for 2022, click here.
In 2021, three undergraduate and five graduate students have been selected based on these criteria to receive EAS Student Research Awards. The following outstanding students have been chosen from a very worthy field of candidates:


Maximillian Card
Clarkson University
Nominated by Prof. Silvana Andreescu
Mengqi (Jonathan) Fan
Trinity College
Nominated by Prof. Michelle Kovarik

Matthew Too
State University of NY-Brockport
Nominated by Prof. Markus Hoffmann
James Hagan 
University of Rhode Island
Nominated by Prof. Jason Dwyer
Mohamed Hassan 
Clarkson University
Nominated by Prof. Silvana Andreescu
May Myat Moe
City University of NY – Queens
Nominated by Prof. Jianbo Liu
Crystal Pace 
North Carolina State University
Nominated by Prof. David Muddiman

Qi  Wang
NJ Institute of Technology
Nominated by Prof. Hao Chen


 The Governing Board of the 2021 EAS congratulates
these awardees for their outstanding achievements.

 The Student Awardees’ posters will be presented – date and time to be announced