Student Research Awards

EAS continues to actively support a Student Research Awards program to recognize students involved in research in the broad field of analytical chemistry. We have expanded the Student Research Awards to include both graduate and undergraduate students. In the spring of each year, we encourage professors to identify undergraduate Juniors in college and graduate students who demonstrate special talent in research. Nomination criteria include excellent grades, appraisals of how the students handle their investigations, their approach and how they resolve problems and publicly disseminate their work. For more information on nominating a student for 2024, click here.

In 2023, three undergraduate and five graduate students have been selected based on these criteria to receive EAS Student Research Awards. The following outstanding students have been chosen from a very worthy field of candidates:

2023 Undergraduate Student Research Awardees

Trevor Kempen

Gustavus Adolphus College

Nominated by Professor Dwight Stoll

Yu Tin Lin

University of Florida

Nominated by Professor Boone Prentice

Aric Potter

University of Utah

Nominated by Professor Joel Harris

2023 Graduate Student Research Awardees

Samuel Foster

Rowan University

Nominated by Professor James Grinias

Nicole North

Ohio State University

Nominated by Professor Heather Allen

Riti Sen

University of Pittsburgh

Nominated by Professor Jill Millstone

Alexis Weber

State University of NY – Albany

Nominated by Professor Igor Lednev

Danielle Whitham

Clarkson University

Nominated by Professor Costel Darie

 The Governing Board of the 2023 EAS congratulates these awardees for their outstanding achievements.

 The Student Awardees’ posters will be presented on Tuesday, November 14; 11:30am-12:15pm