2020 EAS Awards

Each year the Eastern Analytical Symposium honors Analytical Chemists who have distinguished career achievements. The recipients of these awards advanced these fields by superior work in developing theory, techniques or instrumentation.

At the 2020 Symposium scientists in six areas of endeavor, will be presented awards. (click on award name to read awardee’s bio)

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry:
Professor Susan Olesik, The Ohio State University

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Vibrational Spectroscopy:
Professor John A. Reffner, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Separation Science:
Professor Joe Foley, Drexel University ************************************************************************

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Magnetic Resonance: 
Professor Arthur G. Palmer, Columbia University

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Mass Spectrometry: 
Dr. Barbara Larsen, DuPont Experimental Station 


EAS Young Investigator Award: 
Professor Dajana Vuckovic, Concordia University 


In 2020 three other awards will be presented at the Annual Symposium in November under the auspices of the presenting organizations: click on award name for awardee’s bio

New York Microscopical Society Ernst Abbe Award: 
Brian J. Ford, Cambridge Microscopist and Author

NY/NJ Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal Award:
Howard Mark, Mark Electronics & Jerome J. Workman Jr., Spectroscopy and LCGC

American Microchemical Society Benedetti-Pichler Award: 
To be announced


EAS Awards are selected by independent juries of experts in these respective fields from nominations received by the Award Committee from the scientific community at large or by the jury members.  Each award consists of an honorarium, travel expenses to EAS, a plaque, and the opportunity for the Awardee to present his or her work at EAS at an Award Symposium in his/her honor.

Persons wishing to make a nomination for any of the awards given by EAS should send complete documentation of the candidate (nominating letter summarizing achievements, curriculum vita or resume, a statement of the nominee’s willingness to present an address as part of an EAS Award Symposium, and arrange for at least one seconding letter from outside the candidate’s own organization) electronically (single PDF file is preferred) to:   awards@eas.org

The length of the nomination packet should be commensurate with the nominee’s accomplishments, but should be limited to six to eight pages. The deadline for 2021 award nominations for all awards is September 1, 2020.

Anne Aubry
2020 Awards Chair