2020 Student Research Awards

Sponsored by Merck & Co.

EAS continues to actively support a Student Research Awards program to recognize students involved in research in the broad field of analytical chemistry. We have expanded the Student Research Awards to include both graduate and undergraduate students. In the spring of each year, we encourage professors to identify undergraduate Juniors in college and graduate students who demonstrate special talent in research. Nomination criteria include excellent grades, appraisals of how the students handle their investigations, their approach and how they resolve problems and publicly disseminate their work. For more information on nominating a student, click here.
In 2020, four undergraduates and four graduate students have been selected based on these criteria to receive EAS Student Research Awards. The following outstanding students have been chosen from a very worthy field of candidates:


Joshua Davis
Rowan University
Nominated by Prof. James Grinias
Tasneem Elkoush
Barnard College
Nominated by Prof. Michael Campbell

Brian Mark
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Nominated by Prof. KV Lakshmi
Amelia Taylor
Vanderbilt University
Nominated by Prof. John McLean
Jiayi He 
University of Minnesota
Nominated by Prof. Christy Haynes
Kendall Johnson 
Northeastern University
Nominated by Prof. Alexander Ivanov
Nicole Ralbovsky
State University of NY – Albany
Nominated by Prof. Igor Lednev
Pengyi Zhao 
NJ Institute of Technology
Nominated by Prof. Hao Chen

 The Governing Board of the 2020 EAS congratulates
these awardees for their outstanding achievements.

 The Student Awardees’ posters will be presented – date and time to be announced