2023 EAS Awards

Each year the Eastern Analytical Symposium honors Analytical Chemists who have distinguished career achievements. The recipients of these awards advanced these fields by superior work in developing theory, techniques or instrumentation.

At the 2023 Symposium scientists in six areas of endeavor, will be presented awards.  Congratulations to our awardees!

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry:
Professor Robert Kennedy, University of Michigan

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Separation Science:
Professor Mary Wirth, Purdue University

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Magnetic Resonance: 
Professor James Prestegard, University of Georgia

EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Mass Spectrometry: 
Professor John McLean, Vanderbilt University


EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Chemometrics:
Professor John Kalivas, Idaho State University


EAS Young Investigator Award: 
Professor Emanuela Gionfriddo, University of Toledo


In 2023 one other award will be presented at the Annual Symposium in November under the auspices of the presenting organization:

NY/NJ Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal Award:
Dr. Curtis Marcott, Light Light Solutions LLC


EAS Awards are selected by independent juries of experts in these respective fields from nominations received by the Award Committee from the scientific community at large or by the jury members.  Each award consists of an honorarium, travel expenses to EAS, a plaque, and the opportunity for the Awardee to present his or her work at EAS at an Award Symposium in his/her honor.

Persons wishing to make a nomination for any of the awards given by EAS should send complete documentation of the candidate (nominating letter summarizing achievements, curriculum vita or resume, a statement of the nominee’s willingness to present an address as part of an EAS Award Symposium, and arrange for at least one seconding letter from outside the candidate’s own organization) electronically (single PDF file is preferred) to:   awards@eas.org

The length of the nomination packet should be commensurate with the nominee’s accomplishments, but should be limited to six to eight pages. The deadline for 2024 award nominations for all awards is September 1, 2023.

Brandy Young
2023 Awards Chair